all playlists
November 1, 2020

Coffee, Republic & Cake

The writing is on the wall with this playlist taking on a political lens.

Some tracks are straightforward and others take on a different meaning under this concept, but it all tells a story about fear, trust, and obedience to government.

With artists like Muse, The White Stripes, and Thirty Seconds To Mars, who all write about politics in many of their songs, anchor the listener through different relationships between man and government.

“Uprising” and “Seven Nation Army” sound off with beating drums of action, while songs like “Wrong” question circumstance and societal depression. Then halfway through this political soundtrack takes a turn with Lorde’s rebellion track “Yellow Flicker Beat”, continued by songs like “Psycho” and “Ignorance” which build on the idea of identity and change, but in this playlist’s case, a political system.

Toward the end you have the classic war song “Zombie” by The Cranberries, followed by the expression everyone has about future uncertainties with Placebo’s epic song “Twenty Years”. ///

Dangervisit - Archive
Uprising - Muse
The World We Made - Ruelle
Seven Nation Army - The White Stripes
Wrong - Depeche Mode
Protege Moi - Placebo
Survivor - 2WEI, Edda Hayes
Battle Of One - Thirty Seconds To Mars
Yellow Flicker Beat - Lorde
Black Skinhead - Kanye West
Psycho - Muse
Nuclear War - New Politics
Dirt Room - Blue October
Ignorance - Paramore
Zombie - The Cranberries
Hurricane - Thirty Seconds To Mars
Twenty Years - Placebo
The Man Who Sold The World - Nirvana